Temping highly recommended

For anyone who cares, I did take my temp when trying to conceive. First, I’m a math teacher and I love math, science and data to back up any hypothesis. So, I took my temperature every day at 5am (my usual wake up time for work, and even if I didn’t have to get up I’d temp and the go back to sleep). Some days I’d wake up extra early (2am, 4am, etc) and the books said you needed 4 or more continuous hours of sleep, so I’d just take it then.
For MONTHS I thought I ovulated 12 days after my last period, but as soon as I started temping, I discovered I was ovulating 2-3 days earlier than I thought. So this changed my timing.
Second, every month your temp rises after you ovulate and if you do get pregnant, your temp will stay up. So on the days leading up to my period, my temp stayed up and I had a very good feeling that I was pregnant and I in fact was!

Temping takes the guess work out of it. There is no reason not to temp! You don’t have to do it at 2, 4 or 5am like me, you just do it as soon as you wake up! There are some great apps too that help you chart your temp. I like MyDays the best. It makes a great and easy to read temp graph that makes it so clear when your temp spikes, etc.

Feel free to comment or contact me if you have any questions about temping, Trying to conceive or early pregnancy. I’m not a doctor or anything, but I’m an avid reader and have been devouring books, blogs, and websites. If I don’t know the answer, I’ll find it!!

Leave a Reply

