Heart hurts

I caught a student of mine cheating on a quiz today.  She’s not a cheater, and she used to be a super sweet, fun, smart girl.  Now, she seems removed from school, and I could tell that something bad must be going on for this change to happen.  I knew she had a loser boyfriend, but she told me today that he went to jail, her parents are getting divorced, her mom has a drinking problem and blames everything on her.  She’s been working a lot to help her mom pay for stuff and she bailed her bf out of jail.  I didn’t really know what to say so I said it seems like she’s taking on a lot of responsibility.  I think of all the things that I could have said now, that we’re through talking about it.  I could have told her to think about now and nothing else.  That someone has to take care of her and that might need to be herself. 

Leave a Reply

