How we did it

**Warning:  If you are MY parent, you probably don’t want to read this post.  And I don’t think I want you to either.  🙂

Hubby and I decided pretty early in our engagement that there was not a whole lot of time to wait until we’d like to try to have kids.  I’m 30 and he’s 38.  We both travel a lot, we’re done with school/college, etc, and we feel like we’ve lived our lives and we’re ready to settle down and move on.  We got married in May and started just by not actively avoiding it (not using any protection).  After a month or so, when nothing was happening, I started reading: books and online, as much as I could.  A good friend of mine “temps” (that means she took her temperature every day as soon as she woke up, to watch for a jump in the temp, which means she had ovulated.)  I started trying it, but it just didn’t really work for me.  I didn’t have a good place to write it down and track it, and my sleep schedule was a little wacky, so we kept trying on the days when I assumed I was ovulating.  My cycle is 24 days, so I counted forward 12 days from day 1 (Day 1 is the first day of your period – it’s an easy day to find!) and assumed that was when I’d ovulate.  So we did it at least every other day, and sometimes everyday on those days.  As you can probably tell, I was not that organized about it.  When it hadn’t happened after 4 solid tries, I stopped drinking alcohol completely, stopped eating junk food, stopped drinking coffee, and walked for 30 minutes every day.  After 5 months, we were both getting a little frustrated and nervous.  Hubby said he’d give it one more month, and then head to the doctor.  I decided to really give it my all, and started “temping” again.  (see more info on my basal body temperature experience here.)  What I discovered was that I was ovulating 2-5 days earlier than I had thought.  Hubby and I accounted for this, and whamo!  Here we are 🙂

Leave a Reply

